[SpamCop-List] Re: Who do I report to?
TimeLord
nobody at spamcop.net
Tue Jan 20 19:30:25 EST 2004
"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:buju4v$npm$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> Abbreviated summary of Received: lines *comment
> from barclay.mondenet.com (www.mondenet.com [192.168.0.134]) by
> archer.mondenet.com
> from hgtcirhi (host-209.167.194.184.mondenet.com [209.167.194.184] by
> barclay.mondenet.com
>
> Those are 'bad' headers, unless you just chose to leave part of them out
> when you were mungeing them. The headers you posted would indicate that
> mondenet is both your provider and the source, which I don't believe,
> because I believe your provider is something kin to NTL internet or NTL
> World or ntli.net or ntlworld.com or somesuch. When you want to 'talk
> about' headers, if you munge them in some way that is very destructive
> to the analysis, it is frustrating.
>
> What is wrong with those headers, since I'm having to 'manufacture'
> proper headers 'in my mind' is that the top received line should belong
> to your provider, and that line should be showing your provider
> receiving the item from mondenet. That line would also show the output
> IP of mondenet. The top line shouldn't show a non-routing IP like
> 192.168.0.134 except when it belongs to your own provider.
These were the headers and contents from an attachment to a 'Returned mail:
see transcript for details'. Mail said ...
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<A at aol.com>
(reason: 550 MAILBOX NOT FOUND)
... which gave me a laugh!. Only the email addresses were munged, the rest
was as came.
Yes, I'm on NTLfreedom(=ntlworld.com).
> So, on the basis of what you've posted, you should notify mondenet,
> postmaster at mondenet.com (default, no info) No abuse address is
> registered with abuse.net - so I would also notify the tech
> strad at mondenet.com and also the parent uunet: abuse-mail at mci.com and
> tell them mondenet doesn't have a reg'd abuse addy.
Thanks for those Mike - reports away :-)
Kev
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list