[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Why can't I blacklist this?

Bud bud at telus.net
Mon Jan 26 12:07:43 EST 2004



Godwin Stewart wrote:

> On Sun, 25 Jan 2004 22:44:02 -0800, Bud wrote:
>
> > After processing and reporting, I go back into MW to blacklist and I'm
> > told that can't be done for lack of a 'from'..........

> The "From:" header is trivial to forge and spammers routinely do so.
> Therefore, building a blocking rule on a header abused in such a way
> doesn't...............

>
> I'd write to Rev. Bruce Meikle at rbm#smu,edu to let him know that his
> machine has been 0wn3d and is being used to spray spam all over the world.
>
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?track=129.119.252.143
>
> SC sticks with the postmaster@ approach, and indeed a quick telnet session
> confirms that the address does exist (as it should) but it doesn't confirm
> that it's read.
>
> --
> G. Stewart  --  s/loopback\.// to reply  --  Remember: TINLC

Thank you, I appreciate the time you took. Copied and pasted into notebook.
Bud




More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list