[SpamCop-List] Re: What some registrars accept as whois info ....
No Uce
luckee at mighty.co.za
Sat Jul 17 03:30:04 EDT 2004
On Fri, 16 Jul 2004 16:07:18 -0700, Anonymous <none at domain.invalid> wrote:
> "MaddSybil" <maddsybil at spamcop.net> wrote in message
> news:cd8n2b$d6$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>> ICANN-
>> registrar-info at icann.org
>>
>> There was some discussion by them about registrars doing cursory checks
> for
>> valid WHOIS data, but they haven't made it mandatory. They should.
>
> So, if I report a spamvertised website to that website's registrar, what
> capabilities does that registrar have to do something about it? And if
> they
> don't do anything about it, should I report them to the above email
> address?
>
We should make a distinction between bad WHOIS data, especially "The
customer's 'willful provision of inaccurate or unreliable information';
..."
and
SPAM, which registrars can not do anything about
However, the trick is that spammers do not want anybody to know who they
really are. As such the "willful" registration with bad WHOIS data. (Had a
guy searching for addresses on the internet and using it!! Search on
Google showed New York Bakeries address as spammers!! Ditto a certain
Alberto in Mexico, who was cheesed off with his address on something he
new nothing about)
Once this happens - Yippeeeee... Off I go to http://wdprs.internic.net/
and report :-) (I included Alberto's mail here for good measure)
See http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-10may02.htm
http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-03apr03.htm (Which the
registrars choose to ignore/not understand etc)
Cheers
Derek
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list