[SpamCop-List] Re: What some registrars accept as whois info ....
Sean W
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Sat Jul 17 02:44:51 EDT 2004
In posting cd9p3n$r8i$1 at news.spamcop.net,
Anonymous thus did type:
> "MaddSybil" <maddsybil at spamcop.net> wrote in message
> news:cd8n2b$d6$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>> ICANN-
>> registrar-info at icann.org
>
> Well, I've got one spammer who's Registrar is Directi (definitely
> spammer-friendly), and his webhost is ChinaNet (definitely
> spammer-friendly). In addition, the email address used to register the
> website doesn't bounce, so I'm assuming it's valid. So the Registrar
> refuses to do anything.
>
> So, since it's an @yahoo.com email address, I wrote Yahoo! and requested
> that they deactivate that email address. This will create a discrepancy in
> the registration info for the spamvertised website, and allow me to report
> to the Registrar. If the Registrar doesn't do anything about the site
> then, I'll report them to ICANN, which will hopefully force them to do
> something about it.
Don't bother reporting it to the registrar, report it to ICANN directly (http://wdprs.internic.net/) who will LART the registrar themselves (you'd just have to report to ICANN if you got auto-acked/Dave Nulls anyway).
Oh and if you ever come across someone in Nominet's registery (ab)using the 'individual opt out' for .co.uk addresses and they are obviously a business, lart nominet-at-nominet.org.uk or Nicola.Coope-at-nominet.org.uk or Tracy-Lee.Feldma-at-nominet.org.uk and probably add 'Abuse Of Individual Opt Out for commercial site' in subject or near the top of the email.
Usually that results in rapid results.
Dodgy registrars on the other hand need special treatment (http://reports.internic.net/cgi/registrars/problem-report.cgi)
There's a few pages on Network Solutions someone on the ICANN site from those reports (and some of the domain names Netsol were threatened with disciplinary action over STILL had bogus WHOIS data last time I looked!)
ICANN uses a crisp lettuce leaf to deal with those offenders.
--
Sean
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list