[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: ipadm@gddc.com.cn for 219.137.163.238 but returns '550-No such user'

brewman nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Tue Jun 1 15:26:40 EDT 2004


"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:c9gngd$tmq$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> <newsgroup 'nazi' nit nattering> I think the important elements of the
> 'question' belong in the body;  only in the subject is 'awkward' to talk
> about
>

agreed - sorry

> 219.137.163.238 no rDNS SC notifies with ipadm at gddc.com.cn
>
> The way I lookup that is the apnic whois which is CHINANET Guangdong
> <which indicates this isn't going to be very happy> which sez the above,
> which abuse.net looksup as:
>
> whois -h whois.abuse.net gddc.com.cn ...
> abuse at gddc.com.cn   anti-spam at chinanet.cn.net
> ctsummary at special.abuse.net  (for gddc.com.cn)
>
> then I look it up in openrbl which tells me that it is spamcop listed,
> also an open proxy, but that, surprisingly, it isn't spews and spamhaus
> listed.  That means that I don't 'open' my 'unresponsive' notify folder.

Hmmm - I was hoping SC would save me that bit :-(

>
> > I'm tracking bounced Joe-job spam,
>
> Another minor nit, I only call it joejob when it is the 'original'
> joe.com type of action.  The other forgeries are simply forged Froms.
> Which is actually a 'normal' condition of spam.  I think you are simply
> reporting some spams with your addy as the forged from.  Not a joejob.
>

Let's ignore the From field. Even the To field. I have effective spam
filters, but am getting HUNDREDS (it might be thousands by now, I stopped
counting after a  few days) of bounced emails crashing through from
non-existent mailboxes around the globe which have artificial names
prepended to MY domain name as the return address i.e.
from RFC822 >>  "Return-path" ":" route-addr ; return address
(whether also the From address is irrelevant)
Many even have MY domain name as the HELO/EHLO name (actual this is
irrelevant, but shows the lengths that someone is going to in order to
implicate me).
One picked at random starts as follows:
|------------------------- Failed addresses follow: ---------------------|
 <frank.XXX at t-online.XXX>
   unknown user / Teilnehmer existiert nicht
 <fotoXXX at t-online.XXXe>
   550 Mailbox quota exceeded / Mailbox voll.
 <franz.XXX at t-online.XXX>
   unknown user / Teilnehmer existiert nicht

I believe that I AM the target of an "'original' joe.com type of action". If
I am wrong, then shoot me down.
-- 
Brewman
Brewman.SpamCop at brycom.cX.nX which really ends with dot co dot nz




More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list