[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Whitelisting

Larry Kilgallen Kilgallen at SpamCop.net
Sat Jun 12 10:24:09 EDT 2004


In article <caeusc$ute$1 at news.spamcop.net>, "Gordon Hudson" <usenet at hostroute.com> writes:
> Hello
> I found hgtis in my mail server log:
> 
> 2004-06-08 12:07:59 H=(registerfly2.com) [209.223.103.175]
> F=<register at registerfly2.com>is blacklisted at bl.spamcop.net see Blocked -
> see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?209.223.103.175
> 
> Now, I can add that to my local whitelist so it doesnt get checked, but:

Yes, that is the correct approach.

> My understanding is that this is a server used to send out renewal notices.

But you do not have proof it is the _only_ purpose for which the IP
address is used.

> I know from my own experience that customers do report OUR renewal notices
> as spam.

Some renewal notices go out as seldom as once a year, by which time
an email address might have been recycled to a different customer
by a large ISP.  For that new customer, the renewal notice _is_ spam.

> The number of complaints against registerfly means one of three things:
> 
> 
> 
> 1. They are spamming
> 
> 2. Their renewal notices are being wrongly reported.
> 
> 3. They have an open relay or compromised server.
> 
> 
> 
> I tend towards thinking (2)
> 
> It would be interesting to see the spam that is being reported from that
> source.

The abuse desk receives copies of human (non-mole) reports.
That is a wide enough audience for the business purpose.


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list