[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Wanadoo reporting address wrong?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Mar 9 07:33:27 EST 2004


MaddSybil wrote:
> This is the Postfix program at host abuse.wanadoo.fr.
>
> I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned
> below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

> <abuse at abuse.wanadoo.fr>: Command died with status 255:

03/09/04 07:27:11 dns abuse.wanadoo.fr
No DNS for this address
(host doesn't exist)

That particular 'dns' tool will return an mx for the domain if one
exists, which it doesn't in this case.  All mail to any username at
abuse.wanadoo.fr including abuse will fail.

The abuse.net reg'd addies for wanadoo.fr are abuse & pm

whois -h whois.abuse.net wanadoo.fr ...
postmaster at wanadoo.fr (for wanadoo.fr)
abuse at wanadoo.fr (for wanadoo.fr)

those also for wanadoo.com

whois -h whois.abuse.net wanadoo.com ...
abuse at wanadoo.fr (for wanadoo.com)
postmaster at wanadoo.fr (for wanadoo.com)

-- 
Mike Easter



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list