[SpamCop-List] Re: 193.252.22.27 blocked today, why?
Philippe Verdy (n.o+s.p.a.m- abuse)
verdy_p at wanadoo.fr
Wed Mar 10 03:20:48 EST 2004
In news:c2kulg$nl4$1 at news.spamcop.net,
Mike Easter <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote:
> Philippe Verdy wrote:
> > Today I see one of the SMTP servers used by my ISP being blocked:
> >
> > http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=193.252.22.27
>
> 2004 Mar 09 9:21 AM PST = 09:21 -0800 UTC
> 03/09/04 09:21:18 dns 27.22.252.193.bl.spamcop.net
> No DNS for this address
>
> SC webpage lookup 193.252.22.27 not listed in bl.spamcop.net
>
> It is now delisted in the SCbl.
Did you note that despite this Wanadoo SMTP serer was listed by SCBL for
some hours, the information page was not modified?
My first message in this thread was about the content of the information
link which is not exhibiting anything for the past hours, so the listing
may just appear as if it was bogous, and readded without reason.
That's why I asked "why?" I think that if spamcop sends such
informations stating that it justifies a recent blocking for exhibited
events that occured months ago and have been solved since, this may be
very irritating.
Some have said that the listing appeared because of rejeced emails that
were bounced by Wanadoo to the wrong sender (for example a forged
spamtrap address). As there was no exhibit of this event, and because
the bounces (admitedly annoying) are now no more recommanded but still
not denied in a adopted RFC as this advisory is still quite new and not
applied by many users or SMP operators that use old settings that
enabled these bounces (yesterday recommanded...) there's some space here
before listing a server due o the bounces it is sending, noably when
exhibits of such bounces are not shown in the justification for listing
a SMTP server.
--
--
Philippe.
Spams non tolérés: tout message non sollicité sera
rapporté à vos fournisseurs de services Internet.
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list