[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Ok, here is a news twist: They are using my website in *their* spam!

John Malmberg a at all.addresses.on.cdrom.are.invalid.aaa
Wed May 19 23:33:27 EDT 2004


Dan French wrote:
> Reference spam:
>    http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z489668498z8a561010a63fc897bfb7a56aab691a9az
> 
> First: I *OWN*  BOMARC.COM and BOMARC.NET
> 
> For the past year or so, they have been down as hackers got into my
> servers....
>    {long story, don't want to degrade the issue}

<SNIP>

> Both of my websites (both the .com & .org) are listed in the spam.

As bomarc.com does not resolve, no reports were sent to it.
And bomarc.net does not seem to have anything responding to ping, the 
only report address was netsol.com which spamcop.net says it refuses to 
bother.

So no reports were sent to your domains.

There is a problem with your domain registration for bomarc.net. 
Hotmail does not allow the use of their e-mail addresses in domain 
registrations, and will delete any e-mail account that they find used 
that way.  This will make the domain contact information invalid and 
cause the domain registration to be put on hold until it is corrected.


Something is responding to PING on BOMARC.ORG

PING BOMARC.ORG (209.63.57.10): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 209.63.57.10: icmp_seq=0 time=72 ms

The site has a redirect link to a site selling reverse engineering 
consulting services that matches the domain name.  No apparent 
relationship to the subject of the spam.

Looks like a possible innocent bystander.

Why your domain names?  Who knows.


-John
wb8tyw at qsl.network
Personal Opinion Only






More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list