[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Email Blocked

N. Miller tdy at blackhole.aosake.net
Mon May 31 23:46:22 EDT 2004


In article <c9f5sb$i8a$1 at news.spamcop.net>, downunder at xyz.com says...

> The mail is being blocked and my ISP doesn't seem to comprehend what I"m
> telling them.  Their response was that if spamcop or another similar
> organisation was blocking bigpond's mailservers, then they would have been
> inundated.

That's odd. SpamCop doesn't seem to be doing a very good job of blocking 
email to my servers:

> Return-path: <basilb at mail.com> 
> Received: from vi7.org (64.71.154.225) by aosake.net (Mercury/32 v4.01a) with ESMTP ID MG00004F;
>    27 May 2004 07:32:23 -0700
> X-Blocked: Blocked by 'SpamCop'
> From: "ed at tripsww.com" <ed at tripsww.com>
> To: <x>@aosake.net
> Subject: Hotels, B&B's, Inns, Resorts, Lodges, Chalets, Vacation Rentals on our site. We are offering a lifetime membership A 1 time c 
> Message-Id: <20040527174250.747DA2B65A7 at vi7.org>
> Date: Thu, 27 May 2004 13:42:50 -0400 (EDT)

OTOH, I *could* block email from SCBL listed sources by changing one setting 
in my MTA. For now, though, very little spam seems to be caught with "X-
Blocked: Blocked by 'SpamCop'" in the headers.

(For those who care, that is just the way my MTA tags the email. If I change 
it from local tagging to blocking, the reject notice only list one of *my* 
points of contact; SCBL isn't mention as a cause of the block.)

-- 
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list