[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Spammie using my address as From: in email to me!??!

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Nov 26 14:15:30 EST 2004


Porpoise1954 wrote:
> "Mike Easter"
>> Porpoise1954 wrote:
>>> Apparently from a Demon UK account.
>>
>> 62.49.206.2  rDNS  mailgate.abexltd.co.uk
>>
>> There's a website somewhere else http://www.abexltd.co.uk./
>>
>> ... but I can't put it together.
>
> Hhmmm...... Innocent bystander????

Most likely  62.49.206.2  is abused somehow.  The domainname
abexltd.co.uk uses demon's mailservers at a different /24

inetnum:      194.217.242.0 - 194.217.242.255
netname:      DEMON-INT

...but your [probably] abused IP is an adsl in a little bitty block of 7
IPs

inetnum:      62.49.206.0 - 62.49.206.7
netname:      BXEA-ADSL
descr:        DEMON ADSL CUSTOMER
descr:        Abex Limited

The target or reference one is currently showing online.  If we wanted
to probe its ports, we might be able to find out what's wrong with it -- 
it isn't currently listed anywhere.

Whereas the website for the forklift trucks is here 194.159.243.251 -
also demon.

inetnum:      194.159.243.224 - 194.159.243.255
netname:      DEMON-WWW-NCW2
descr:        Demon Internet
descr:        Web Hosting Solutions

since there's only 32 IPs there, demon probably has them 'stacked up' -
we'll look at our target:

194.159.243.251 - IP hosts 112 Total Domains ...
194.159.243.252 - IP hosts 141 Total Domains ...

etc.  So they cram a lot of websites into that little block of 32.



-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list