[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: SpamCop doesn't use AfriNIC for lookup of 165.146.0.114

Daniel W. Johnson panoptes at iquest.net
Mon Apr 18 00:55:04 EDT 2005


Mike Easter <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote:

> But it isn't the same situation.  afrinic is now a legitimate RIR just
> like ripe is, and SC should be querying afrinic about the IPs which arin
> refers to afrinic for.  It shouldn't be querying ripe about an afrinic
> IP.  Or lacnic about an afrinic IP.  Or apnic about an afrinic IP.
> 
> But the .tr IP addresses are under ripe.  While metu.edu.tr is an
> important .tr netblock, it isn't the only one found in ripe.  So is
> ulakbim.gov.tr and presumably others.  The .tr related IP addresses need
> to have themselves properly reg'd in ripe for their tech/admin or abuse
> contacts.  Also, it would be nice if the corresponding appropriate
> domainname for the contacts were also abuse.net reg'd.

Okay, maybe I shouldn't have taken Ilgaz's description of .tr at face
value.

Something else I've noticed: For at least some RIPE addresses, SC asks
ARIN first, then recognizes that response as a redirection and asks
RIPE.  I'm not sure why it doesn't do the same thing for the redirection
in AfriNIC's record.
-- 
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes at iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list