[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: request for location information...

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Apr 21 19:32:46 EDT 2005


Mike Easter wrote:
> I'll focus on some different words.

Better yet, I'll use a specific example and pretend.

This is a pharm spam, not a porn spam, but we'll talk about it.

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z754939349zea498cabb6216892dbef38d8f2503772z

SC offers to notify:

Report Spam to:
Re: 81.192.194.130 (Administrator of network where email originates)
   To: elasri at menara.ma (Notes)
Re: http://www.premiumhealthnow.info/vt/ (Administrator of network
hosting website referenced in spam)
   To: abuse at sbcglobal.net (Notes)

The first is the notify for the source and the second is the notify for
the spamvertiser.  Play like it was a porn being spamvertised instead of
a pharm..

The source is a [proxified] user IP whose provider's notify address is a
domainname   menara.ma  in/of Morocco.  That doesn't mean some child
porno related crime took place in Morocco.  Similarly, the notify
address for the spamvertiser, sbcglobal.net, has its mail handled by
prodigy which is in NY, which doesn't have anything to do with anything;
and/or/but/also sbcglobal registration which happens to be in Plano,
Texas USA - which also doesn't mean anything.

These notify addresses are providers for something, not perpetrators of
anything.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list