[SpamCop-List] Re: Blocklisted
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Apr 29 17:58:05 EDT 2005
David Rubinstein wrote:
> I need some help, we have a user somewhere on our servers that is
> sending mail to spam traps. Our servers are setup to identify every
> piece of mail with a UID/GID in the headers, if you could kindly
> lookup who is causing the spam trap block I would appreciate it.
>
> web19.thehostingnet.com 66.6.223.34
I'm not a deputy, but until one comes along I'll kibitz.
66.6.223.34 rDNS web19.thehostingnet.com is not currently SC
blocklisted according to the web based SCbl lookup^1, in spite of the
fact that external db lookups such dnsstuff and senderbase show it to be
SCbl/ed when I looked at 4:49 PM PDT (-0700 UTC)
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=66.6.223.34
The parser is designed to not name the server if there is a user IP
'behind' the item. Typically servers get named because of backscatter;
misdirected bouncing to bogus spam Froms, out of office autoresponders
to bogus Froms, viral propagation notifications to bogus Froms.
If your server makes newmails addressed to Froms under any of those
circumstances, that will get the server listed. See
http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/14.html Messages which may be
reported:
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list