[SpamCop-List] Re: reports question?
N. Miller
nobody at spamcop.net
Fri Aug 12 21:50:15 EDT 2005
On Fri, 12 Aug 2005 16:48:54 -0400, Jon Milliren wrote:
> Mike Easter wrote:
>> Your newsagent is mozilla/tbird. If your mailagent is, you would use
>> the instructions at http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/21.html - How
>> do I get my email program to reveal the full, unmodified email? :-
>> Netscape, Mozilla and Thunderbird
>
> Thank you Mike.
>
> I copied and pasted the report into the webform, if that matters. I did
> this by clicking forward in T-bird, and copying the text from there.
Better to either use Ctrl+U, or to forward the message as an attachment.
>> SC determined that the item was relayed/forwarded to you from
>> alumniconnections or Harris Publishing Company, so that's why it didn't
>> want to notify those addresses, on the parse determination that the
>> server 198.212.10.108 rDNS permemail05.alumniconnections.com was
>> serving you, not being the spamsource.
>
> I am not a customer of Harris Publishing, and I don't use their alumni
> email addresses. I'm just a recipient of spam that is apparently sent
> using that service.
>
>> Someone around here recently was discussing that their provider was
>> alumniconnections ie Harris Publishing. If that isn't the case for you,
>> you should probably configure yourself for mailhosts as well as finding
>> out how to submit spams to the parser.
>
> I will do this. Thank you.
Mailhosts is very important when you have screwy routing. It helps to keep
track of spam sources without mis-reporting my own mail server on two
counts; SBC Yahoo! DSL Service email is received by MX servers in the
prodigy.net domain, but handed off to mail servers in the yahoo.com domain,
for email to a pacbell.net mailbox, and for a certain web mail account I
use, redirecting from that account to a local MX server, then processing
the spam from there avoids parsing errors when attempting to re-direct from
that account to SpamCop. Either way, the SC parser has, in the past, wanted
to report my mail service because the routing wasn't "trusted".
(Prodigy.net to yahoo.com handling pacbell.net email looked wrong;
ahmegami.net to aosake.net looked wrong.)
--
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list