[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Why will not SC report http://uk.geocities.com/ ?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Sun Aug 21 16:36:23 EDT 2005


Ant wrote:

> So far this month I've reported 19 uk.geocities spams. Most were plain
> text, but a few were html. Of this total, two (one plain-text with the
> same IP as above, and one html) were offered reporting addresses.
>
> This is what the parser said:
>
>  [refresh/show] Cached whois for 66.218.77.68 :
>  network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc.com Using abuse net on
>  network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc.com abuse net cc.yahoo-inc.com =
>  postmaster at yahoo-inc.com Using best contacts postmaster at yahoo-inc.com
>  postmaster at yahoo-inc.com redirects to yahoo[at]admin.spamcop.net

That step isn't the same as what we are talking about here about not
providing an address from an unresolved url.  That item is showing
resolution, address information, best contacts experience, and
'redirection' to a special address for the provider.

>  To: Internal spamcop handling: (yahoo) (Notes)

Notes is clickable.

> The internal handling could mean that Yahoo have a reporting address
> reserved for Spamcop which they don't want to advertise, or it could
> mean something else. I don't know if this is significant.

Correct.  Yahoo wants their /spamcop/ notifies handled in their own way.
If you are going to notify yahoo as an /individual/, SC will give you a
different addy for 'non-spamcop' notifies.

Parsing input: 66.218.77.68
host 66.218.77.68 = intl1.geo.vip.scd.yahoo.com
Reporting addresses:
mail-abuse at yahoo-inc.com
postmaster at yahoo.com

> I also find the parser quirk irritating. There may be good reason for
> the behaviour, and if so, I think the parser should display a message.
> It doesn't need to give a reason if that would be giving away secrets,
> but it should make it clear that the non-resolution is intentional.

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list