[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Why will not SC report http://uk.geocities.com/ ?

R. Asby Dragon none.of at your.biz
Sun Aug 21 18:27:22 EDT 2005


spamcop wrote:
> On 8/21/05 1:09 PM, in article deacf0$vfk$1 at news.spamcop.net, "Mike Easter"
> <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote:
> 
> 
>>spamcop wrote:
>>
>>>As an example RE:
>>
>>www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z798388600z0d1c69ce0572e7c70090d5004320ed4bz
>>
>>>Why will not SC report http://uk.geocities.com/ ?
>>
>>SC may or not try to resolve URLs it has deobfuscated.  When it tries
>>to, it may or not be able to resolve URLs which are otherwise
>>resolvable.  If you tinker with an unresolved URL, you may gain
>>information.
>>
> 
> Maybe so BUT usually it states it "can't resolve"  In cases like these all
> it states is:
> 
> Resolving link obfuscation
>  http://uk.geocities.com/stock_market_miracles
> 
> And then silence.  Note that there is no "link obfuscation" in any of the
> sources as they're all simple text/plain and no escape sequences.
> 
> 
>>You can put that URL directly into the parser and SC will resolve it to
>>66.218.77.68 and provide reporting addresses, so that means the URL /is/
>>SC resolvable.
>>
>>Reporting addresses:
>>mail-abuse at yahoo-inc.com
>>postmaster at yahoo.com
>>
>>Some theorize that the parsing algorithm might have load-induced
>>priorities, but no one in charge of the algorithm has explained the
>>nuances of some of the above 'may or may not' differences.
>>
> 
> Doubt it as SC can identify the URL
> 
> 
>>Paid SC reporters can perform such an operation and use the addresses as
>>additional notifies;  free reporters would have to manually notify if
>>they wanted to notify about the spamvertiser.
> 
> 
> No different if paid or not paid. I tried and got "abuse at yahoo.com does not
> wish to receive user-copied reports."
> 
> I am rather sick of yahoo allowing bots to auto signup on geocities and
> getting flooded with geocities link spams.
> 
> Tom
> 

For what its worth :

whois -h whois.abuse.net uk.geocities.com ...
uk-geo-abuse at yahoo-inc.com (for uk.geocities.com)

I'm at least getting autoacks from that address.


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list