[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] DNSstuff question

Berny bar_n0ne at hotmail.com
Tue Aug 23 16:48:17 EDT 2005


Just a question about 2 different returns from DNSSTUFF, the first is
IPWhois lookup (2nd column row 3:

WHOIS results for 221.11.133.66
Generated by www.DNSstuff.com
Location: China

Looking up 221.11.133.66 at whois.radb.net.

NOTE: More information appears to be available at AS4282.

route:        221.11.133.0/25
descr:        THIS PREFIX HAS BEEN DELIBERATELY
descr:        BLACKHOLED IN THE AS3561 BACKBONE
descr:
descr:        ONLY TRAFFIC THAT ACTUALLY ENTERS
descr:        AS3561 WILL BE DISCARDED.
descr:
descr:        PLEASE RELAY ALL QUESTIONS
descr:        RELATED TO THIS PREFIX TO:
descr:
descr:        *****@savvis.net
descr:
origin:       AS4282
remarks:      AUP violation Vantive 464107
remarks:      added by vbuckles on 06-13-05 17:08:47
mnt-by:       SAVVIS-CUSTOMER
changed:      *********@savvis.net 20050613
source:       SAVVIS

[If E-mail address(es) were hidden on this page, you can click here to get
the results with the E-mail address].The Second is "Whois lookup" first
cloumn row 3WHOIS results for 221.11.133.66Generated by
www.DNSstuff.comLocation: China

ARIN says that this IP belongs to APNIC; I'm looking it up there.


Using 7 day old cached answer (or, you can get fresh results).
Hiding E-mail address (you can get results with the E-mail address).

% [whois.apnic.net node-1]
% Whois data copyright terms    http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html

inetnum:      221.11.128.0 - 221.11.223.255
netname:      CNCGROUP-HI
descr:        CNC Group Hainan province network
descr:        China Network Communications Group Corporation
descr:        No.156,Fu-Xing-Men-Nei Street,
descr:        Beijing 100031
country:      CN
admin-c:      CH455-AP
tech-c:       CH455-AP
remarks:      service provider
mnt-by:       APNIC-HM
mnt-lower:    MAINT-CNCGROUP-HI
changed:      **********@apnic.net 20030122
status:       ALLOCATED PORTABLE
source:       APNIC

role:         CNCGroup Hostmaster
e-mail:       *****@cnc-noc.net
address:      No.156,Fu-Xing-Men-Nei Street,
address:      Beijing,100031,P.R.China
nic-hdl:      CH455-AP
phone:        +86-10-82993155
fax-no:       +86-10-82993102
country:      CN
admin-c:      CH444-AP
tech-c:       CH444-AP
changed:      *****@cnc-noc.net 20041119
mnt-by:       MAINT-CNCGROUP
source:       APNIC

The differences are obvious, but what is that IPWhois (top of post)? How did
the savvis stuff get in there? I guess I don;t quite understand what is
being queried in the first instance.




More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list