[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: MyFamilyInc.com

Robert Blair nobody at nowhere.not
Wed Aug 24 06:19:42 EDT 2005


On Tue, 23 Aug 2005 23:21:40 UTC, "Pop" <nobody at devnull.spamcop.net> 
wrote:

> Anyone else being bugged on a regular basis by myfamilyinc.com, 
> ancestry.com, or myfamily.com?

I think ancestry.com is owned by myfamily.com (they also own 
rootsweb.com).  They do not always honor the optout check marks (I 
have selected to not receive anything from them except what I am 
subscribed to) and they still send me spam.

So far none of the genealogy sites do confirmed subscribes (they do 
send you a welcome email).

I have tried to report some of this through spamcop a few years ago 
but could not, the spam report would have been sent to something like 
notspam at spamcop.net.  I guess the assumption was you were subscribed 
(where they got your email address) to something they had therefore 
you were one of their customers and nothing you received from them was
spam.


-- 
Robert Blair


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list