[SpamCop-List]
Re: I am getting more messages from this .pk server about
listserver messages I can do nothing about.
Geoffrey Hyde
g.hyde at bigpond.net.au
Fri Dec 9 09:53:17 EST 2005
"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:dn9ksf$aqo$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> Geoffrey Hyde wrote:
>> This is to me a spam email, as there
>> is NOTHING, I repeat, NOTHING that I can do about it.
>
> What you should do is use an invalid addy in your postings to that group
> or newsserver. Which I said back then.
Which would do nothing but infuriate some poor random user somewhere who
does get my message due to the server not figuring out who it should go to.
The worst case scenario is that nobody gets it and nobody does anything
about it and it just fills up some mailbox somewhere until a human
administrator examines it and determines it was my munged from address that
filled the mailbox up in the first place, so cancels my account.
I don't need unexpected account cancellations thank you very much, Mr.
Easter. So I would really prefer to leave things unmunged - spammers may
have my address but they WILL get reported.
Unfortunately, the only possible resolution here is if the .pk server wakes
up and stops bouncing listserver email to places that a human observer could
quite easily see it should NOT go to.
And why, of all places, does it have to be .pk - or Pakistan? Because
everyone elsewhere seems to know how to properly configure their mailserver
in order to avoid misdirected bounces like this one. If I could, I'd have
it SC reported to admin at lugnet.com, since you seem to have identified them
as the listserver owner.
I'm pretty sure this spam email is breaking more than a few RFC protocols.
If the mailserver at lugnet is the sender, it should be the recipient, or at
the very least the Reply-to:, which it isn't.
Cheers ...
Geoffrey Hyde
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list