[SpamCop-List] Re: address blocked
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Feb 1 03:00:24 EST 2005
Maurice Tszorf wrote:
> I am confronted with constant blocking of my email addresses. It
> started when I began using it for a mailing list. I can receive
> mails, but I cannot send off a single mail, no matter to what
> destination, for some 24 hours, after which the block sets in again
> the minute I send a message to the mailing list.
The only way we can talk about some mail which is blocked is to talk
about the IP address which is being blocked.
> I would like to
> know how I can prevent being blocked constantly.
You haven't given useful information yet, so I'll try your nntp IP
address.
Your nntp posting host is 85-64-66-198.barak.net.il IP address
85.64.66.198
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=85.64.66.198
85.64.66.198 listed in bl.spamcop.net -- System has sent mail to
SpamCop spam traps in the past week -- SpamCop users have reported
system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
85.64.66.198 is also listed in cbl^1 and some other blocklists besides
SC. The cbl listing causes you to be spamhaus listed on the spamhaus
XBL.
^1 The CBL takes its source data from very large spamtraps, and only
lists IPs exhibiting characteristics which are specific to open proxies
of various sorts (HTTP, socks, AnalogX, wingate etc) which have been
abused to send spam, worms/viruses that do their own direct mail
transmission, or some types of trojan-horse or "stealth" spamware,
without doing open proxy tests of any kind.
I would say that your mail is being blocked because its IP address has
been associated with mail/spam from that IP hitting spamtraps and thus
becoming blocklisted by several important blocklists which are popular
as spam defenses. When your IP is listed, your mail will be blocked by
those defenses.
There's also an example of a spam from that IP in sightings which I've
run through the SC parser to provide for an example here
www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z727355563za1f4432282e2cb21dd5126cebbf13b37z
Subject: Experts are jumping all over this st0ck
Report Spam to:
Re: 85.64.66.198 (Administrator of network where email originates)
To: abuse at 013barak.net.il (Notes)
So, your IP appears to be an abused proxy being used for pump&dump stock
spams and people don't want to get mail from it so they block the mail
from that IP which causes your mail to be blocked.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list