[SpamCop-List] Re: Abuse addresses
Miss Betsy
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Fri Feb 4 10:57:26 EST 2005
"Anti-Spam" <nobody at spamcop.net> wrote in message
news:ctu9iq$sdb$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>I was about to post something in .routing, but figured
> maybe I'd start with a more generic question:
>
> I just processed a spam where the parser was
> devnulling the results being sent to the originating
> e-mail server. Seems it had decided to use
> postmaster@, since nothing was registered with
> abuse.net. My question is, why is postmaster@
> better than the registered whois contact address,
> and in the future, should these cases be flagged
> in .routing?
IIUC, postmaster@ is never supposed to refuse email (possibly there is an
RFC on this). The registered whois contact addresses can filter email and
probably do. If the postmaster@ box is overwhelmed (or someone is ignoring
the RFC), then it may bounce. If spamcop gets enough bounces, it quits
trying and uses devnull (which does put the IP address on the bl just as if
reports went).
Miss Betsy
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list