[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: How does Yahoo (or its registrars) get away with this ?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Sat Feb 5 08:30:32 EST 2005


George Langford, Sc.D. wrote:
www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z728915987z046dd46c99e70e6238e4cdcf9756e015z
>
> Domain name in message body: http://citifinancialinf.com/

SC wants to notify slurp at inktomi.com based on the arin for
OrgName:    Inktomi Corporation
NetRange:   68.142.192.0 - 68.142.255.255
CIDR:       68.142.192.0/18

which actually sez:

Comment:    For general abuse contact netblockadmin at yahoo-inc.com.
Comment:    For Web Crawler questions please contact slurp at inktomi.com.
AbuseEmail:  netblockadmin at yahoo-inc.com

so I would say netblockadmin at yahoo is better.

> TraceRT leads to: premium3.geo.yahoo.akadns.net (68.142.234.76).

I don't find the tracert to be a good strategy.  It is a poor substitute
for the ASN, and the upstream notifications are often inappropriate.
There's no point in notifying upstreams of the IP of a yahoo/inktomi
website issue.

> None of my WhoIs sources can find the registration information.
> I tried CompleteWhoIS: http://www.completewhois.com/
>           EasyWhoIS: http://www.easywhois.com/
>    and  OpenRBL.org: http://us.openrbl.org/

'Registration information' is ambiguous.  There is the regional
registrar's information, Inktomi above, and the domainname below.

The registration information for a domainname is found according to the
tld, toplevel domain, in this case .com, so I use internic, which comes
up empty, so then I use crsnic which sez whois.melbourneit.com and is
brandnew as of today.

whois -h whois.melbourneit.com citifinancialinf.com ...
Domain Name.......... citifinancialinf.com
  Creation Date........ 2005-02-05
  Organisation Name.... Armond Lehman
  Organisation Address. 7893 macdougall dr.
  Organisation Address. Jacksonville
  Organisation Address. 32244
  Organisation Address. FL
  Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

> As no AS number was forthcoming from OpenRBL, I sent my LART to
> abuse at level3.net in addition to abuse at akamai.com (akadns.net),
> slurp at inktomi.com, and mail-abuse at yahoo-inc.com, not to mention
> phish at millersmiles.co.uk and spam at uce.gov.
>
> To whom should I have addressed a LART about the lack of information
> about the registrant of the domain, citifinancialinf.com ?

I think somehow you went astray in looking for that.  It isn't available
at internic for some reason.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list