[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: How does Yahoo (or its registrars) get away with this ?

George Langford, Sc.D. amenex at amenex.com
Sat Feb 5 14:56:15 EST 2005


Mike Easter wrote:

>> SC wants to notify slurp at inktomi.com based on the arin for
>> OrgName:    Inktomi Corporation
>> NetRange:   68.142.192.0 - 68.142.255.255
>> CIDR:       68.142.192.0/18
>> which actually sez:
>> Comment:    For general abuse contact netblockadmin at yahoo-inc.com.
>> Comment:    For Web Crawler questions please contact slurp at inktomi.com.
>> AbuseEmail:  netblockadmin at yahoo-inc.com
>
>  so I would say netblockadmin at yahoo is better.

That's good to know.

> I don't find the tracert to be a good strategy.  It is a poor substitute
> for the ASN, and the upstream notifications are often inappropriate.
> There's no point in notifying upstreams of the IP of a yahoo/inktomi
> website issue.

I didn't make myself clear.  TraceRT often knows the IP address of
a mysterious domain before anyone else.  Why else could I connect
when none of the WhoIs's that I knew could do it yet ?  Also, TraceRt 
can get past any redirect sites so that the real location of the sourcecode 
can be found.  As well as the IP address of the redirect site, whose 
abuse@ may want to know how his resources are being used fraudulently.

TraceRT actually de-obfuscated the IP address for me:
> TraceRT FROM voa.his.com TO www.citifinancialinf.com:
> traceroute to premium3.geo.yahoo.akadns.net (68.142.234.76)
The second line above is the conversion,  The last line in the TraceRT is:
> 12  p3w8.geo.re2.yahoo.com (68.142.234.76)
Note that the IP block is correct. I get to the same location whether I add 
the www. to the domain or not.  I notified abuse at akamai.com because of
 the akadns.net relationship to the destination IP address.

> The registration information for a domainname is found according to the
> tld, toplevel domain, in this case .com, so I use internic, which comes
> up empty, so then I use crsnic which sez whois.melbourneit.com and is
> brandnew as of today.

Sho' 'nuf, http://www.completewhois.com/ finally comes around and sez:
>   Domain Name: CITIFINANCIALINF.COM
>   Namespace: ICANN Unsponsored Generic TLD - http://www.icann.org
>   TLD Info: See IANA Whois - http://www.iana.org/root-whois/com.htm
>   Registry: VeriSign, Inc. - http://www.verisign-grs.com
>   Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE - 
>   http://www.melbourneit.com
>   Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
>   Name Server[whois+dns with ip] YNS1.YAHOO.COM 66.218.71.205
>   Name Server[whois+dns with ip] YNS2.YAHOO.COM 216.109.116.20
>   Status: ACTIVE
>   Updated Date: 04-feb-2005
>   Creation Date: 04-feb-2005
>   Expiration Date: 04-feb-2006
>   [whois.melbourneit.com] 

It wouldn't do that while I was capturing the sourcecodes with Mozilla's
Composer HTML editor. This is the same guy as Mike quoted; alas only 
one Google hit, on the man's name. However, I did find out that he owns 
property at the address given in the WhoIs record.  

>> To whom should I have addressed a LART about the lack of information
>> about the registrant of the domain, citifinancialinf.com ?

> I think somehow you went astray in looking for that.  It isn't available
> at internic for some reason.

I guess the answer is that, as far as Yahoo is concerned, these slowly
propagating WhoIs records are probably going to be found first at
http://whois.melbourneit.com, which works for me, too, by golly.

Thanks for heping out with this fine resource.
George Langford (amenex)


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list