[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: How does Yahoo (or its registrars) get away with this ?

N. Miller tdy at blackhole.invalid
Sat Feb 5 16:26:00 EST 2005


In article <cu2sa1$pq1$1 at news.spamcop.net>, Mike Easter says...

> I don't find the tracert to be a good strategy.  It is a poor substitute
> for the ASN, and the upstream notifications are often inappropriate.
> There's no point in notifying upstreams of the IP of a yahoo/inktomi
> website issue.

And I should thank you for that lesson. I have added "whois.cymru.com" to my 
Sam Spade Win Tools application, using this link:

http://www.samspade.org/ssw/tips.html

Going down to the "Adding whois servers" section, and following the 
directions. I haven't taken time to see if I can automate the process any 
further; currently I get a result with Sam Spade:

-----------------
02/05/05 16:23:30 whois 68.142.234.38 at whois.cymru.com

whois -h whois.cymru.com 68.142.234.38 ...
ASN     | IP               | Name                          
14779   | 68.142.234.38    | INKT Inktomi Corporation      
-----------------

I can then surf to this bookmarked link to fill in the final pieces of the 
puzzle:

http://bgp.potaroo.net/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS

I can open the page on that link, then past the Sam Spade ASN result to the 
end of the link to get something like:

http://bgp.potaroo.net/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS14779

-- 
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list