[SpamCop-List]
Re: How does Yahoo (or its registrars) get away with this ?
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Sat Feb 5 17:33:00 EST 2005
Mike Easter wrote:
> There's also one that Ellen told me/us about here that you telnet
> into, but I've forgotten that one. I suppose I could look it up
> somehow. I found a link for telnet://route-server.cerf.net and/or
> telnet://route-server.ip.att.net/ - but I can't remember how to
> command it or read its output.
I found a little note by Ellen's name for a command that sez: sh ip bgp
ip.address
So I tested it out on 68.142.234.38 which I know to be AS14779 Inktomi
with a single upstream at Potaroo of AS3356 which is level3
and I got this output:
BGP routing table entry for 68.142.224.0/20, version 1802400
Paths: (2 available, best #2, table Default-IP-Routing-Table)
Not advertised to any peer
17233 7018 3356 14779, (aggregated by 14779 66.196.112.252), (received
& used)
12.129.192.2 from 12.129.192.2 (12.129.192.2)
Origin IGP, localpref 100, valid, external
Community: 7018:5000 17233:666 17233:1002 17233:7018
17233 7018 3356 14779, (aggregated by 14779 66.196.112.252), (received
& used)
12.129.192.1 from 12.129.192.1 (12.129.192.1)
Origin IGP, localpref 100, valid, external, best
Community: 7018:5000 17233:666 17233:1001 17233:7018
which seems like a lot more information than I really wanted ;-) but
you get it very fast.
And I see the 14779 in there, both in the aggregated by and the last #
before that. Then, I also see the 3356 just before that.
I would have to mess with it some more to figure out how to interpret
multiple upstreams and whether or not there is any way to 'see' the kind
of information that the Robban gave about 'fractionating' multiple
upstreams.
I can also see the 12.129.192.2 and .1 in there which is an att/cerf IP
and I can see that it is AS7018 so it was probably looking from those
IPs. I don't know what 17233 is. I have no idea what that community
info is, except that I see 7018 in there and 17233 again which I can't
figure out.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list