[SpamCop-List] Re: spam bouncing back to server as the relay
Dar
nobody at spamcop.net
Sun Feb 13 17:06:56 EST 2005
> Still not enough unusable information, but lets try. This looks does
> not even look like a bounce or an e-mail transaction, it looks more like
> a diagnostic log of an e-mail transaction.
>
> Did comcast send a new e-mail back, or did they reject receiving the
e-mail?
It shows up in the queue directory as a file along with the original
spam -- only the body of the message though -- no headers. It also
shows up in my log file for that server. Yes, I'm sure you're right
and it's a reject.
> So that is an obvious problem, you are accepting e-mail from I.P.
> addresses known to be controlled by spammers, and only used to send
> spam, and trying to be a relay for them.
Gotcha
> As you are accepting spam from sources listed by sbl.spamhaus.org, you
> apparently have no effective anti-spam controls. This may actually
> reduce your operating costs and will likely make your users happier.
>
> It also makes your mailserver untrusted for forwarding.
>
> My recommendation is for you to implement spam blocking on your server,
> and reject the well known spam sources at the SMTP connect time at a
> minimum.
Thanks - I do see the whole picture now. I do have spam filters in
place, but they are limited in that I'm a reseller and must live with
what's provided. I can block individual IPs or IPs in sequence. By
adding 61.0.138.147 to a file set up for this purpose, that particular
IP is blocked. If I add *61* alone, all email is blocked from all IPs
beginning with *61*. Otherwise, it's the drudgery of adding one at a
time for any spam that makes it through the existing filters.
Thanks again -- I'll stop whining, accept responsibility now, and see
what I can do about tightening up.
Dar
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list