[SpamCop-List] Re: easynet Switzerland
Bert Driehuis
driehuis.fcnzpbc2005 at playbeing.com
Sun Feb 27 05:04:10 EST 2005
On Sat, 26 Feb 2005 13:51:59 +0100
Ulrich <ulrich at koeppe.com> wrote:
> Philip Homburg wrote:
> > In article <cvpo6h$80v$1 at news.spamcop.net>, Ulrich
> > <ulrich at koeppe.com> wrote:
> >
> >>Hi, how come easynet.ch is being blocked by spamcop? I'm trying to
> >send >letigimate email to our customers and the messages bounce....
> >I don't >care if some other user sent spam or whatever, I don't want
> >to be >punished for someone else's mistakes. Blocking a whole SMTP
> >can't be the > solution.....
> >
> >
> > Maybe your customers care more about not receiving spam than about
> > receiving mail from you. Spamcop doesn't do any blocking. It's the
> > admin of a MTA who decides whether and how to use the Spamcop BL.
>
> Yeah I know, great, but that comment doesn't exactly solve my problem
> though.
Being listed on Spamcop is a mechanical process. Some tweaks can be
made by the spamcop deputies, and in the case that you raised it appears
to me that the sensitivity has been turned down a bit because you were
the first to point out that this IP address was in fact an ISP outflow
IP address.
Seeing that you're a paying customer of Easynet, would it not be
appropriate if you got on the phone with them and ask *them* why Spamcop
wasn't aware of the configuration? I can't speak for Spamcop and I can't
speak for Easynet, but my general impression is that well-run ISPs do
not have major issues with Spamcop.
Again, I'm a lousy mind reader, but chances are that Easynet has not
been very communicative with folks (like me) who send Spamcop
reports, and that may well extend to not paying attention to Spamcop at
all. For what it's worth, I have zero responses from easynet.ch on file
that pertain to reports I made; not even an auto-ignore.
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list