[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: millstone.fitnessbiz.info

Ron B. zypher at spamcop.net
Tue Jan 25 12:01:23 EST 2005


WazoO wrote:
> "Ron B." <zypher at spamcop.net> wrote in message
> news:ct4fje$5ad$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> 
>>WazoO wrote:
>>
>>>Please read "How to use a Tracking URL"
>>>http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=3531
>>
>>Thanks, sorry:
>>
>>http://mailsc.spamcop.net/sc?track=http%3A%2F%2Fmillstone.fitnessbiz.info
>>and
>>http://mailsc.spamcop.net/sc?track=202.99.172.171
> 
> 
> The catch is neither one of those is a Tracking URL (maybe
> you didn't follow the first referenced link in that FAQ
> entry and check the Glossary?  or do I need a re-write
> already of this latest Forum FAQ entry?)
> 
> See, you started with a Report ID number which is useful
> to a small handful of folks that are busy doing all kinds
> of other support things.
> 
> These last provided links are usable for those with
> paid accounts, though not really providing the full
> detail that I thought you originally were asking about ...
> the results of the parsing of a spam ...
> 
> To make your data available to others that might
> have answered, you'd need to change your provided
> links to read;
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?track=202.99.172.171
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?track=http%3A%2F%2Fmillstone.fitnessbiz.info
> 
> 

Once again, thank you for your patience and guidance.
I really was not paying attention and working half asleep.


Perhaps now we can look at the original question.

Spamcop did not seem to be able to parse the original address:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z724804475z6d5ab4416684f72796f5ffc4067612ffz
and
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?track=http%3A%2F%2Fmillstone.fitnessbiz.info


Traceroute revealed last ping for "millstone.fitnessbiz.info" was at
202.99.172.171


Parsing this IP address through SC:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?track=202.99.172.171
Showing us that abuse point of contact is "abuse at cnc-noc.net"

Now my question, why can I find the IP address using a traceroute
program, but Spamcop can't parse it?



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list