[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: questionable 'aol' looking stuff

Brian (SnSR) SCNews.5.myspamgobbler at spamgourmet.com
Mon Jun 20 19:30:02 EDT 2005


gmccx wrote:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z776987119za056ea36ac56fe1f803e84242b2c5824z
> 
> I've gotten a few of these and although there certainly seem to be signs 
> that it's actually from aol, I am puzzled by the doubleclick and 
> flonetwork references.  Is it spam or not?
> 
> 

I have heard that AOL is using doubleclick :/ for things like this. I 
can't really say one way or the other if it's spam for you. For me it 
would be because I have had no dealings with AOL. I think AOL has been 
drawing some heat over using doubleclick for managing some (all?) of 
their lists.

 From Spam-L

Am I reading this right? AOL hires DoubleClick to spam for them? I have
an AIM username, but got it years ago and did not use the email account
this came to. And the spam was anything but 'Registration Confirmation'
it was spam selling the AOL service.

Return-Path:            <AIM_msg_ at member.aim.com>
Delivered-To:
Received:       (qmail 8827 invoked from network); 21 Apr 2005 19:23:45
-0000
Received:       from unknown (HELO xprdmx13.nwk.excite.com)
([10.50.29.181]) (envelope-sender <AIM?msg @member.aim.com>)by 0
(qmail-ldap-1.03) with SMTP for <munged>; 21 Apr 2005 19:23:45 -0000

Return-Path:    <AIM_msg_ at member.aim.com>
Received:       from mta.member.aim.com (mta.member.aim.com
[65.167.67.221])by xprdmx13.nwk.excite.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id
56BC117F79 for <munged>; Thu, 21 Apr 2005 15:23:43 -0400 (EDT)
X-MID:          <@flonetwork.com>
Date:           Thu, 21 Apr 2005 15:23:46 -0400 (EDT)
Message-Id:     <@flonetwork.com>
From:           "AIM Member Message" <AIM_msg_ at member.aim.com>
To:
Subject:        Registration Confirmation for AIM

In a followup message:

Upon further reflection I remembered I did just sign up for a throw away
at Netscape. I guess they 'opted' me in.

 From DoubleClick

AOL did not hire us to "spam" for them.  We are AOL's Email
Service Provider, meaning we provide an ASP solution where AOL can
manage their email subscriber lists and setup the message creative that
they want to send to their subscribers. We then provide a number of
different reporting services, we also maintain and process email bounces
and unsubscribes, which are then reported back to them for removal and
updating in their subscriber database.  The list of addresses that AOL
sends their marketing messages to, are lists that are owned and operated
by AOL.

        This goes for all of our clients, DoubleClick does not
own/rent/sell/trade/share any email addresses, this has been a
misconception of many people.

I would be happy to talk to AOL on your behalf and investigate this
further, please contact me off list.

Cheers,

Matt Vernhout
ISP Relations Manager,
Email Delivery Management
DoubleClick, Inc.


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list