[SpamCop-List] Re: questionable 'aol' looking stuff
gmccx
gmccx at notvalid.com
Mon Jun 20 23:58:38 EDT 2005
Mike Easter wrote:
> gmccx wrote:
> www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z776987119za056ea36ac56fe1f803e84242b2c5824z
>
>>I've gotten a few of these and although there certainly seem to be
>>signs that it's actually from aol, I am puzzled by the doubleclick and
>>flonetwork references. Is it spam or not?
>
>
> The definition^1 of spam that I prefer involves a cautious description
> of unsolicited and bulk and benefitting the sender. My preference is
> the MAPS one, regardless of whether or not they are despised for the
According to the maps defintition I would indeed call it spam.
However, what some people could say makes it gray is that I probably did
register for an AIM account some years ago... used it about 3 days and
never touched it again.
When I signed up, did I click 'yes' on something that said I was giving
them the right to do this? I would be hard pressed to prove that either
way.
>If you are confused about what spam is, read the MAPS definition.
I am generally not confused, but this one is a little different than the
fake Viagra sort of ads that arrive fresh from open proxies in China or
such and can be found in just about every email box in the country or
world even.
The characteristics of the item are that it
> sported a From of flonetwork.com of postini, a source of 65.167.67.221
> rDNS mta.member.aim.com of doubleclick, and a spamvertiser of
> member.aol.com of doubleclick.
>
> ^1 http://www.mail-abuse.com/spam_def.html
--
George
http://people.delphiforums.com/gmcc
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list