[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Why is the URL in this email not reported?

Mike B mrcics2000-spamcop-nomail at nomail.yahoo.com
Wed Jun 29 10:53:32 EDT 2005


"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:d9ubn7$ajj$1 at news.spamcop.net
> Mike B wrote:
> www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z780071734zddefcda82a803b3f5b6630c43b99f499z
>>
>>
>> Seems to me Spamcop stops in the middle of the process in resolving
>> this URL address? Am I mistaken?
>
> SC does several different things variably when it comes to
> spamvertisers, and the 'chain' toward the end notify may be broken
> anywhere between the beginning and the end.
>
> The steps are: find the url, deobfuscate, resolve, whois lookup,
> consider experience and routing issues, resultant notify.
>
> The tracker at the time I accessed shows going all the way to
> experience and routing, where the yahoo routing gets special internal
> handling. You may have seen something different.  Possibly you saw
> the chain being broken by not trying to resolve.
>
>
> Resolving link obfuscation
> http://www.geocities.com/llolopol/prvtpr/?censor
>   host www.geocities.com (checking ip) = 66.218.77.68
>   host 66.218.77.68 = intl1.geo.vip.scd.yahoo.com (cached)
>
> Tracking link: http://www.geocities.com/llolopol/prvtpr/?censor
> No recent reports, no history available
> Resolves to 66.218.77.68
> Routing details for 66.218.77.68
> [refresh/show] Cached whois for 66.218.77.68 :
> network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc.com
> Using abuse net on network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc.com
> abuse net cc.yahoo-inc.com = postmaster at yahoo-inc.com
> Using best contacts postmaster at yahoo-inc.com
> postmaster at yahoo-inc.com redirects to yahoo at admin.spamcop.net


That is truly weird. When I was creating the report, it stoppped after Link 
Obfuscation and did not include a notify for the Yahoo abuse id. Pity.

Any advice on how to work around that type of problem?

-- 
Mike B 




More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list