[SpamCop-List] Re: blocked forwarding email
tnfoto
tony at tonynelsonphoto.com
Thu Nov 17 12:34:00 EST 2005
"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:dli8mi$443$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> tnfoto wrote:
>> "Mike Easter"
>
>>> Here's a possibility for you. We're talking about a mail from
>>> Customer to Photo which I've renamed from MNP.
>
>>>> Here's the basic situation. I have a website for my business (I'm a
>>>> commercial photographer) hosted by Earthlink who gives me a number
>>>> of email addresses at my site, i.e. myname at mynamephotography.com.
>>>> I set it to forward email to my main email address at my home ISP
>>>> which is a inexpensive local company that tells me they do not use
>>>> Spamcop's service. Periodically, email coming to me gets blocked &
>>>> bounces back to the sender.
>>>
>>> That is, a mail trying to make it from Customer to Photo and
>>> forwarded on to homeISP gets 'bounced' [which might be a newmail
>>> addressed to Customer, from the mail's From]
>>>
>>> The dirty bird [listed IP] in the route is/ could be/ the EL server.
>>> The server using a blocklist is/ could be/ homeISP, which only
>>> disavows SCbl, you didn't say they disavowed any kind of
>>> blocklisting or rejecting or bouncing.
>>>
>>> So, one mechanism is the Customer or Customer's server being
>>> blocklisted by homeISP, and the other mechanism is EL's server being
>>> blocklisted by homeISP.
>
>> I think this is likely the scenario. First of all, my IP address IS
>> on Spamcop's BL. That was easy enough to check. Here's the message
>> I get with a few names & numbers changed to protect the innocent...
>>
>> myname at homeisp.net SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL
>> FROM:<myname at mynamephoto.com>:
>> host mail.homeisp.net [209.173.xxx.xxx]: xxx 5.7.1 Mail from
>> 207.217.xxx.xxx refused by blackhole site bl.spamcop.net RBL
>
> One of the things that is very aggravating about this situation is that
> not only do you withhold very useful details which could be used to help
> you, but you also change critical elements of the story. What is just
> above this is your homeISPs server saying it is using spamcop's
> blocklist, whereas earlier you distinctly said:
>
> tnfoto wrote:
>> I set it to forward email to my main email address at my home ISP
> which is a inexpensive local company that tells me they do not use
> Spamcop's service.
>
> tnfoto then wrote:
>> But, if it's mail FROM Photo server (EL) that's being blocked by home
>> ISP server (and they're wrong about not using SC), wouldn't the net
>> effect be that I don't receive any incoming mail?
>
> Yes. If you are using an EL IP which is on the SCbl to try to send
> forwarded mail to homeISP and homeISP is using SCbl to reject mail, then
> homeISP would reject the forwarded mail based on the forwarding IP.
>
> That is an ugly situation where you have chosen to forward using an IP
> address which your own homeISP server is configured to reject.
>
> You should have some other arrangement. Either you should have your
> homeISP whitelist what you are forwarding from, or you should not
> forward to homeISP.
>
> A very important thing that you don't seem to understand is that you can
> get immensely more help if we were talking about a real thing instead of
> a description.
>
>
OK, here goes. Understand that any contradiction is purely coming from my
lack of vocabulary in this area. And lack of understanding of what I should
be paranoid about. Getting tagged as a spammer kind of freaks me out.
Here's the actual message:
tnphoto at mninter.net
SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL
FROM:<tony at tonynelsonphoto.com>:
host mail.mninter.net [209.173.229.149]: 550 5.7.1 Mail from
207.217.120.247 refused by blackhole site bl.spamcop.net RBL
mninter is the old name of my ISP, Pixius. My old email address stayed the
same when they changed names though there is no ISP MNInter any more.
tonynelsonphoto.com is my EL hosted site.
Thanks,
Tony
>
> --
> Mike Easter
> kibitzer, not SC admin
>
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list