[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: spam?

jg jg at coks.net
Thu Nov 24 10:30:19 EST 2005


On 11/24/2005 9:11 AM Mike Easter scribbled:

> jg wrote:
> www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z830635339z2e645fe3f9f01fe0bf45c13c93c404d5z
> 
> Remember the 'rule'.  First look at the headers before you even think
> about looking at the body.
> 
> Those headers are straightup, no bogosity, From = source = messageid
> source.  The headers even contain some interesting Xlines about fedex
> hiring.  And the From = the spamvertised site.
> 
> All of that causes one to think that the item doesn't think it is
> 'intending' to be spam.
> 
> So, that makes me think that fedex contracts out to this outfit to find
> them applicants for a job, and the hire.com outfit thinks it has a right
> to spam some kind of targetted mailing list -- or the hire.com 'process'
> decided to do something like pay someone a 'commission' based on the
> number of eyeballs which hit the page
> 
> 

yes and the thing that is curious is that FedEX doesn't seem like the
type of outfit to do business in this fashion...
<snip>


>>The links appear dead.
> 
> 
> This isn't
> http://fedexhourly.hire.com/joblist.html?erpc=matchingjobs&eresc=ERNOTIFY

guess I missed that one, but the others???...
> 
> 
>>AFAICT, sungard is a s/w company affiliated with inflow.
> 
> 
> sungard is the domainname for the notify for
> Authoria, Inc.

who, according to their site, "...is the leading provider of integrated
strategic Human Capital Management (HCM) solutions helping employers
increase the business value of their workforce."
> NetRange:   66.45.102.0 - 66.45.102.255

I miss where sungard comes in here, but this whole thing is really a bit
convoluted for legit operation, isn't it?
And I can only assume it is in fact legit, even though spam...


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list