[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Stupid but aggressive spammer

Hans Salvisberg hans at salvisberg.invalid
Tue Oct 18 02:37:55 EDT 2005


Hi Mike

Mike Easter wrote:
>>www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z815480911zc348696d114d13ffaa53eafe7461b9e0z
> 
> That item is sourced from a .my IP listed in dnsbl for hitting spamtraps
> and spamvertising http://ionizehkc.otenowan.com & SC notifies the .my
> source provider but not the nomaster .kr spamvertiser.

nomaster .kr spamvertiser? You've lost me there...

>>Apparently, the SC reports go directly to the spammer...
> 
> Why do you say that?  The spamvertiser is spews listed as the /23
> http://spews.org/html/S2687.html but the notifies to the source
> providers in .pe and .my don't have much in common.

Because the spam started to come in at my SC address shortly after I 
reported it coming in at other addresses. That seemed to be an odd 
coincidence.

> Generally the spamvertiser is the one who calls the shots, and the
> spamvertiser isn't being notified because both of these are nomastered.
> That is, SC couldn't figure out how to notify the .kr provider
> 'effectively' because of the kornet bounces experience.

Makes sense. Given that it's Leo Kuvayev, I shouldn't be surprised that 
he has my SC address, I guess, but the quality of the spam is awfully low!

Thanks!
Hans

P.S. Thanks, Glenn, for your encouraging reply!


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list