[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

spamacyde mwnospam at comcast.net
Fri Sep 2 04:30:30 EDT 2005


How easy is it to forge headers?  What percentage of headers are forged?
Are we going to look forward to seeing more and more forged headers?


"Steven Maesslein" <nobody at nowhere.invalid> wrote in message
news:slrndhfvh7.3e0.nobody at 127.0.0.1...
> On Fri, 02 Sep 2005 02:34:12 -0400, Robert coughed into spamcop and left
> this in <df8ros$8j4$1 at news.spamcop.net>:
>
> >
http://members.spamcop.net/sc?id=z802124442z380c48a0502d63be54dba57c5528b9e3z
>
> You might want to post the URL that starts with "www" rather than
> "members" in the future - only *you* can view that page.
>
> > Getting a lot of these reports back.  Looks like either a glitch with
> > the parser or another obfuscating technique from spammy.
> >
> > I don't know a lot about SMTP headers, so I can't spot the error.
>
> Yahpoo's Received: header looks malformed. The parser can't parse it,
> andf since the next one down was inserted by the spammer there's every
> chance it's a forgery, and it refers to an RFC1918 IP address anyway.
>
> Therefore, SC can't trace the origin of the mail.
>
> -- 
> Steve
>
> Doctors can be frustrating. You wait six weeks for an
> appointment and he says, "I wish you'd come to me sooner."




More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list