[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Advice on how to remove my IP from the SPAMCOP DB

Brian SC.10.myspamgobbler at spamcowboy.net
Thu Sep 15 08:10:40 EDT 2005


Mike McCannish wrote:
> Hi
> 
> On Monday my IP was added to the SPAMCOP DB. We successfully managed to
> delist our mail server but today we found ourselves back on the list.
> 
> The entry is:-
> 
> http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?62.189.137.201 
> 
> I would like to know how I go about removing our server from this list
> (we no longer have an option to delist) as we can no longer send email.
> 
> I spoke with the support company who look after our Trend IMSS server
> and they said it was configured correctly and we should look at our
> internal SMTP gateway (GroupWise). We have not changed anything on our
> system for over a year so this is confusing me.
> 
> In addition to receiving advice on how to remove our IP from the
> Database, is there anyway we can see who reported us in the first place?
> 
> Any advice greatly appreciated.

 From the link that you supplied:

  If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this 
system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 18 hours.
  Causes of listing

      * System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week 
(spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
      * It appears this listing is caused by misdirected bounces. We 
have a FAQ which covers this topic: Why auto-responses are bad 
(Misdirected bounces). Please read this FAQ and heed the advice 
contained in it.



http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/329.html#bounces is the address 
for the faq. Reading this should be helpful. If you have questions about 
how to implement, others in this newsgroup will be able and most likely 
willing to help.


-- 
Brian
SC.10.myspamgobbler at spamcowboy.net


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list