[SpamCop-List] Re: New Spam Filters
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Apr 11 10:14:50 EDT 2006
Dar wrote:
> When spam is rejected, who receives the reject?
Rejecting is done instead of accepting for delivery. You are rejecting
the transaction from whatever IP is trying to transmit it to you. In
one way you could say that there is no 'reject' in the form of a
newmail -- there is only the transaction code exchange between your
receiving server and the sending server whose mail was rejected.
Properly transmitted mail from a server which is serving a user which is
rejected causes that server which attempted to send but was rejected to
notify the sending user that the delivery failed.
An attempt to improperly transmit mail from something like an abused
proxy will just 'disappear' because it isn't being handled in a
legitimate smtp fashion.
> What are acceptable reject codes? 550? 553? 554?
These seem like pretty crazy [AKA 'dumb'] questions to be asking here!
If you don't know what you are talking about and doing, then you
shouldn't be doing it. If you are trying to educate someone else about
how to do something, it isn't going to work like this.
Shall we create an entire tutorial book on server handling here and then
you hand it to someone else? No good.
> I probably haven't worded this correctly, but the technical details
> are not my forte in this area. I wish to pass any info onto the
> software guys who are actually doing the developing.
That sounds totally whacky to me. Are you telling the truth? I don't
think so.
> Also, with out old servers, my email address was listed as a second
> party if spam was ever reported. I can't remember how I went about
> doing that. Our IPs are: 67.15.158.173 and 66.139.76.78
Well, I can construct something out of that by digging around.
This is all about darbysdesign which has its nameservice from robust.net
which is a very small block under ev1. Its mx is 67.15.158.173 whose
rDNS is actually dar.luxline.com. Which luxline is also the notify for
robust.net and which luxline and robust and gtct all have the same
registration contacts.
I don't really know what the 66.139.76.78 rDNS
server1.darsbydesign.com has to do with anything, except that there is
a pop and smtp server there which isn't listed as an MX for
darbysdesign, but it is a MailEnable server.
darbysdesign also doesn't have an SPF.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list