[SpamCop-List] Re: New Spam Filters
Dar
nobody at spamcop.net
Tue Apr 11 10:50:24 EDT 2006
> > When spam is rejected, who receives the reject?
>
> Rejecting is done instead of accepting for delivery. You are rejecting
> the transaction from whatever IP is trying to transmit it to you. In
> one way you could say that there is no 'reject' in the form of a
> newmail -- there is only the transaction code exchange between your
> receiving server and the sending server whose mail was rejected.
>
> Properly transmitted mail from a server which is serving a user which is
> rejected causes that server which attempted to send but was rejected to
> notify the sending user that the delivery failed.
>
> An attempt to improperly transmit mail from something like an abused
> proxy will just 'disappear' because it isn't being handled in a
> legitimate smtp fashion.
>
> > What are acceptable reject codes? 550? 553? 554?
>
> These seem like pretty crazy [AKA 'dumb'] questions to be asking here!
> If you don't know what you are talking about and doing, then you
> shouldn't be doing it. If you are trying to educate someone else about
> how to do something, it isn't going to work like this.
>
> Shall we create an entire tutorial book on server handling here and then
> you hand it to someone else? No good.
>
> > I probably haven't worded this correctly, but the technical details
> > are not my forte in this area. I wish to pass any info onto the
> > software guys who are actually doing the developing.
>
> That sounds totally whacky to me. Are you telling the truth? I don't
> think so.
I was hoping you would respond, Mike, because you always appear most
knowledgeable in these areas. Believe it... or not. On our old servers,
the spam filters were built for me and I was trained in how to use them.
Those that built them were most knowledgeable and I trusted spam was
treated as it should be.
With the new servers, I must depend on new software techies to build
them. However, this is as new to them as to me. I can tell them what
I want and what I don't want to happen and had, based on past info
provided here, hoped to get an overview. Not a lot of details; just
the basics.
I design web sites and am the web host (primarily) for my design
clients. I have approximately 100 hosting clients, mine is not a large
business, but feel the need to continue protecting them from spam as
in the past.
I apologize if I've asked inappropriate questions in this group.
> > Also, with out old servers, my email address was listed as a second
> > party if spam was ever reported. I can't remember how I went about
> > doing that. Our IPs are: 67.15.158.173 and 66.139.76.78
>
> Well, I can construct something out of that by digging around.
>
> This is all about darbysdesign which has its nameservice from robust.net
> which is a very small block under ev1. Its mx is 67.15.158.173 whose
> rDNS is actually dar.luxline.com. Which luxline is also the notify for
> robust.net and which luxline and robust and gtct all have the same
> registration contacts.
Yes, luxline.com is the entity I pay and yes, it is an ev1 server.
Luxline remains the same; the source of the server(s) changes. The old
servers were Verio and we've moved to ev1 -- for obvious reasons.
> I don't really know what the 66.139.76.78 rDNS
> server1.darsbydesign.com has to do with anything, except that there is
> a pop and smtp server there which isn't listed as an MX for
> darbysdesign, but it is a MailEnable server.
It is a serverbeach.com windows server, but we can leave this one out
of the mix for now. The majority of my clients are on the dar.luxline.com
UNIX server and there is more potential for spamming from my clients
there.
Dar
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list