[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Wondering about how SpamCop works

Patty patty1515NOSPAM at gmail.com
Sun Apr 30 17:00:03 EDT 2006


On Sun, 30 Apr 2006 11:48:50 -0700, anon wrote:

> "Patty" <patty1515NOSPAM at gmail.com> wrote in message 
> news:swjxh81q5lrd$.ldebqc2mpkk6.dlg at 40tude.net...
>> On Sun, 30 Apr 2006 10:55:11 -0700, Mike Easter wrote:
>>
>>> Patty wrote:
>>>
>>>> From the way it looks, I could
>>>> report ANY mail server IP address as being spam and SpamCop would
>>>> then blacklist them.  Doesn't seem right to me.
>>>
> clip>
>>
>>> I've just received a log trace of the report to spam cop. It is all
>>> regular messages from the list. Someone is posting the IP messages to
>>> the black list -- a member obviously. The trace messages give no clue
>>> as to who it is. Very frustrating.
>> (IP in this message refers to Insulin Pumpers.)
>>
>> He is trying to implement a way of putting tracking headers into the 
>> emails
>> so that he can try to find out who it is so we can unsub them, but so far
>> has not been successful.
>>
> 
> A question which was mentioned but one you have not addressed -
> 
> Are all the names on your mailing list opt-in names, in other words have you 
> confirmation letters on file stating that each and every name WANTS your 
> mailings? Can I subscribe someone else to your list and have the mailing 
> sent to him when he himself has not said he want it?

Each new member must submit a short profile and mail subscription request.
The Administrators who handle the subscriptions don't sign anyone up until
those are received.  You possibly could subscribe someone else to the mail
list but whatever email address you use would get the "Welcome" email that
goes out immediately upon subscription.  Would you like to see a copy of
it?

Patty


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list