[SpamCop-List] Re: Spamcop blocks my e-mail...
N. Miller
nobody at spamcop.net
Tue Feb 7 01:24:58 EST 2006
On Mon, 6 Feb 2006 18:52:06 -0500, LawAdmin wrote:
> "N. Miller" <nobody at spamcop.net> wrote in message
> news:18m97alp3xwe8$.dlg at news.spamcop.net...
>> On Mon, 6 Feb 2006 09:48:28 -0500, lslapiko wrote:
>>> Hey,
>>>
>>> My e-mail to the domain thenoise-boston.com is getting blocked by
>>> Spamcop although I'm sending a single e-mail to a single person.
>> Not even possible. SpamCop _could_ block email to such domains as SC runs
>> MX servers for. SpamCop has no control over email to other domains.
>>> The IP address it doesn't like is 63.115.7.109. I don't know why this is
>>> happening...is there anything I can do about it?
>> Could be backscatter to spam traps. I will let others with more inside
>> knowledge than I have address that. Unless you are the administrator for
>> the server being listed by SC, there is not a lot that you can do, other
>> than find alternate service.
> Spamcop has blocked all mail coming from my server, regardless of domains,
> to another server that apparently uses spamcop:
>
> 550-[OUR IP ADDRESS]:43555 is blacklisted at bl.spamcop.net see Blocked -
> see
> 550 http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?64.62.134.202
You really have no idea, do you. Here are a couple of entries from my MX
logs:
| T 20060206 193500 43e71a08 Connection from 216.155.203.231
| T 20060206 193500 43e71a08 HELO n8a.bullet.dcn.yahoo.com
| T 20060206 193500 43e71a08 MAIL FROM:<sentto-########-###-##########-####=###############@#######.groups.yahoo.com>
| E 20060206 193505 43e71a08 Host 216.155.203.231 blocked by SpamCop (Tag only) - message tagged.
| T 20060206 193505 43e71a08 RCPT TO:<######>
| T 20060206 193505 43e71a08 DATA - 129 lines, 4305 bytes.
| T 20060206 193505 43e71a08 QUIT
| T 20060206 193505 43e71a08 Connection closed with 216.155.203.231, 5 sec. elapsed.
| T 20060206 194030 43e71a09 Connection from 67.8.144.72
| T 20060206 194030 43e71a09 ehlo friend
| T 20060206 194030 43e71a09 MAIL FROM:<robert at scandinavian-seed.biz>
| E 20060206 194030 43e71a09 Host 67.8.144.72 blocked by Spamhaus - message rejected.
| T 20060206 194030 43e71a09 Connection closed with 67.8.144.72, 0 sec. elapsed.
Can you see the difference between the actions on the 'E' lines? Can you
see that the "...blocked by SpamCop... line is followed by a "DATA" line,
but the "...blocked by Spamhaus..." line is not? SpamCop did _not_, in
fact, block that email. Nor did Spamhause block the following email. I
tagged the first one, but accepted it; I rejected the second one. That is
"I", as in me, by my own action, as administrator for the domain. Nobody
else. Not SpamCop, not Spamhaus, not God.
> This is a significant problem. One domain has a script exploited and we take
> care of it, without warning, and every BUT the people using spamcop have no
> problems receiving emails from any domain on the server. The blacklisting is
> done strictly by IP address and this can wreak havoc on innocent domains.
There is no "innocence" here, because their is no "guilt" implied. There
are mail server administrators, such as myself, who are tired of being
spammed to death from entities which appear to be slow to react to
problems. We choose what to allow, and what to reject. We choose which
DNSBLs we will use, and how we will use them. You have a beef with being
rejected? Take it up with the administrator doing the rejection.
> The word "overzealous" is appropriate. We have loads of problems with spam
> and this creates even more problems, especially without warnings.
If you are being exploited by spammers, you are getting warnings; the
SpamCop notifies which I send out are the warnings. If you are hitting spam
traps, it is harder to warn; but you should know not to bounce messages
after accepting them.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list