[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Well that didn't take long...

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Mar 17 08:07:00 EST 2006


Galen wrote:

> Hey Mike, thanks again. Reply follows the email you sent.

I didn't send an email.  I only posted to the ng;  reply to group, not
reply to sender or reply to all

> Yup, both belong (theoretically) to me - or at least I'm the only
> authorized person to use them at this point in time and for at least
> the next year though I can't imagine why I'd change it. If you root on
> whathostingshould.be you'll find, at the bottom of the pages, that the
> site's owned/operated by G³ Solutions (which is me...) and so I guess
> that makes me accountable for the trash that host with us when we
> don't catch 'em in time.

I know what the webpages say.  What I described in the other post is
what the registration information doesn't say, except at the website for
one of the registrars.

Because of the way the IP is under liquidweb, they are the provider SC
notifies about that IP.  And even tho' SC doesn't normally notify based
on rDNS, what comes up on rDNS is dailydns.  And what comes up on the
domainnames for kgiii and WHSB also doesn't show you without going to a
lot of trouble for one of them, and doesn't show you at all for the
other, even if one goes to a lot of trouble.

There is a lot of privacy going on in the registration.  I don't think
you are going to be getting any reports unless you can get liquidweb to
give them to you, because liquidweb shows the IPs as belonging to the
project.projnet.com entity which doesn't seem to have anything to do
with you.  Another problem is the offbeat domainnames of .be and
.info -- which is full of cutesy and layers of privacy.

Realize that when you are trying to run an operation and hide everything
at the same time that some other entity is going to be getting the
reports.  There's no problem figuring out who liquidweb is and they are
the arin registered owner of the netblock of your 2 IPs - and the one IP
which is in trouble doesn't even rDNS to anything which is yours.   And
dailydns is some kind of secret privacy protected thing.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list